Check Out/In Pages

Managing website content may require multiple contributors updating content in the same files. In order to prevent contributors from working on the content at the same time and overriding each other’s changes, we have the “Check Out/Check In” system.

The checked out/in icon is represented by a light bulb and reflects the state of an OU Campus page or file.

You can find the light bulb icon in the following places:

  1. When in Edit View for a page you are working on. The icon is located in the Page Actions Toolbar.
  2. In the Page List Area you can see the lit light bulb icon to the right of the file name.
  3. In the File Navigation Sidebar. You can see the lit light bulb icon to the left of the file name.

How to Check Out a File

To edit a page or file, you must check it out. 

  1. Check out the file by clicking on the unlit light bulb light bulb checked in (yellow indicates it is checked out light bulb checked out
  2. After you have checked out a page, no other users can edit the page and make changes until the file has been checked back in.

Once you are finished making updates to a page, you must check the file in. By doing so, this allows anyone else with access to that page to check it out and make changes to it.

  • Click on the yellow light bulb to check it back in.

How to Check In a File

Once you are done editing a page, you must check it back in. This is very important so the page can is made available to other users.

You can check in a page in the following ways:

Submit the Page for Approval

  • When a page is submitted for an approval, the page will automatically be checked out to the approver. The Pending Approval status will show in both the user and approver’s Workflow. No other action is needed.

Click on the Lit (Yellow) Light Bulb

  • If you have a page checked out to you, the light bulb icon will be lit (yellow). You can check the content back in by clicking on the lit light bulb icon. Doing so will dim the light bulb icon (black outline) and check the page back in.

Publish a File/Page

  • When you publish the file/page it will automatically check the file/page in. 

What to do if a File is Checked out by Someone Else

If the page you are trying to edit is checked out by another user, you will not be able to edit the page until they check it in. This is to prevent users from editing pages at the same time and overriding each other’s changes.

  • When you go to a page that is checked out, you will see a red padlock icon Lock and will not be able to check out the content.
  • Hover your mouse over the red padlock to see the name of the user that has the file checked out Name of person who checked out page. 
  • Using the OU Campus Inbox, send the user a message to ask them to check in the page in if they are completed with their edits. 

All checked out files must be checked in so others may access them to modify content.

Dashboard: My Checked Out Content

  1. From your OU Campus Dashboard, you will see an area called My Checked Out Content. This will list any files that you currently have checked out.
  2. To check in the file, click the lit light bulb icon to the left of the file name.
  3. Once you check in the file, the file name will disappear from the list.
  4. If you do not have any files currently checked out, the list will be empty.

Gadget: My Checked Out Content

  1. Find your Gadgets sidebar on the right of OU Campus.
  2. If the Gadgets icon is collapsed, click the Show Gadgets icon gadget plug to expand the menu.
  3. Find the “My Checked Out Content” gadget from the drop-down list. Click the caret icon to expand the gadget. 
    1. If My Checked Out Content' option is not available in gadget dropdown, click on the icon next to Gadget  (Manage Sidebar window will open), check next to this option and save. It will appear immediately. 
  4. This gadget will show you a list of all files you currently have checked out.
  5. To check in the file, click the lit light bulb icon to the left of the file name.
  6. Once you check in the file, the file name will disappear from the list.
  7. If you do not have any files currently checked out, the list in the gadget will be empty.